MLK Jr. County WFP Makes Their 2018 Endorsements

SEATAC— The Working Families Party today announced a round of regional endorsements for the November 2018 elections: Daron Morris for King County Prosecutor, Sen. Rebecca Saldana for 37th LD, Rep. Mia Su Ling Gregerson for the 33rd LD, Mona Das for 47th LD State Senate, Joe Nguyen for 34th LD State Senate, Rep. Pramila Jayapal for Congress in Washington’s 7th District, Dr. Kim Schrier for Congress in the 8th District, and a dual endorsement of Sarah Smith and Adam Smith for Congress in the 9th District.

This year, the Working Families Party will mobilize its grassroots supporter base to volunteer our slate of endorsed progressive champions in advance of the November election. Many of our endorsements were made to recognize progressive champions in Washington State as well as to highlight the issues that mattered most to our members.

WFP candidates have already won primaries against a machine Democrats in Chicago, defeated a big-spending political establishments in Maryland and Milwaukee, and won congressional primaries in Connecticut, New York, West Virginia, Indiana, and Nebraska, and Wisconsin. The WFP is fielding a diverse and progressive slate of gubernatorial candidates, including Stacey Abrams in Georgia, Ben Jealous in Maryland, Christine Hallquist in Vermont and Andrew Gillum in Florida.  

In 2017 the MLK Jr. County Working Families Party branch formed to support progressives in Washington State from communities of color, immigrants and refugees, women and workers in King County. In that first year, we were able to help win crucial and historic City Council elections in Burien and Tukwila.  

Nationally in 2017, the Working Families Party backed 1036 candidates across 23 states, and won in nearly 2/3rds of its races. The party was active in many of the most notable progressive victories of the year, including Larry Krasner (District Attorney in Philadelphia, Pa.), Chokwe Lumumba (Mayor of Jackson, Miss.), Randall Woodfin (Mayor of Birmingham, Ala.), LaToya Cantrell (Mayor-elect of New Orleans, La.), Christine Pellegrino (State Assembly in N.Y.), Crystal Murillo (City Councilor in Aurora, Colo.) and many others.