Connecticut Working Families Party endorses 66 candidates in municipal elections


Hartford, Conn. – The Connecticut Working Families Party (WFP) announced today their endorsement for 66 candidates running for local office across the state, looking to strengthen and expand progressive power in Connecticut cities and towns. These endorsements include municipal candidates in Bridgeport, Danbury, Fairfield, Hamden, Hartford, Meriden, Middletown, New Britain, New Haven, New London, Norwalk, and Windham. The full list of endorsed candidates is available below.  

“We want to build a state where everyone, no matter who they are or where they live, has the opportunity to thrive and prosper,” said Sarah Ganong, State Director of the Connecticut Working Families Party. “Many of the policy decisions that open the door to opportunity and help us build a better, more inclusive Connecticut happen at a local level. The candidates we are endorsing today are committed to advance social, economic, and racial justice in each of their communities.”

The party will mobilize volunteers and activists during the campaign, organizing a grassroots effort, as well as providing key strategic, communications, and field support across the state. 

“Our cities and towns have a big say on education, housing, policing, and many issues that have a direct, immediate impact on working families,” said Ganong. “We need local leaders that will work to strengthen our schools, expand access to housing, and keep our communities safe. We know these candidates are committed to those issues and will work together with the WFP to make them a priority during the election cycle and once in office.”

Albert BenejanBoard of Education
Joanne KennedyBoard of Education
Aikeem BoydCity Council
Tyler MackCity Council
Tammy RoseboroCity Council
Kate ConettaBoard of Education
Al AlmeidaBoard of Education
Dennis PerkinsCity Council
Frank Salvatore JrCity Council
Paul RotelloCity Council
Jeffrey TomchikCity Council
Lou GiordanoCity Council
Holly RobinsonCIty Council
John LaughinghouseCity Council
Joseph BrittonCity Council
Sonia HavasiCity Council
Ryan HawleyCity Council at Large
Shaun RatchfordCity Council at Large
Roberto AlvesMayor
Laurie EspositoTown Clerk
Theodore J. Haddad, Jr.Zoning Commission
Sidney NazarioZoning Commission
Olga MejiaZoning Commission
Jacqueline CabreraZoning Commission
Jennifer O’NeilZoning Commission
Tim MaroneyZoning Commission
Alexis VillacresZoning Commission (Alternate)
William TuttleRepresentative Town Meeting
Rhonda CaldwellLegislative Council
Alex ThomasCity Council
Josh MichtomCity Council
Tiana HerculesCity Council
Michael RiderBoard of Education
Ben FlorsheimMayor
Gene NoceraCommon Council
New Britain
Nate SimpsonCity Council
Richard LacourciereCity Council
Chris AndersonMayor
New Haven
Eli SabinAlder
Kimberly EdwardsAlder
Ellen CupoAlder
Michael SmartCity Clerk
Justin ElickerMayor
New London
Alisha BlakeBoard of Education
Danni CruzBoard of Education
Elaine Maynard-AdamsBoard of Education
Jeff HartCity Council
Alma NartatezCity Council
Reona DyessCity Council
Michael PasseroMayor
Ashley GulyasBoard of Education
Diana CarpioBoard of Education
Jenn McMurrerCommon Council
Jalin SeadCommon Council
Lisa ShanahanCommon Council
Melissa MurrayCommon Council
Darlene YoungCommon Council
Greg Burnett, SrCommon Council – At Large
Nora Niedzielski-EichnerCommon Council – At Large
Barbara SmythCommon Council At-Large
Josh GoldsteinCommon Council At-Large
Johan LopezCommon Council At-Large
Harry RillingMayor
Rose ReyesTown Council